Iowa at the 2022 National Oral Health Conference

A large contingent of University of Iowa College of Dentistry faculty, students, and alumni attended and presented at the National Oral Health Conference April 11-13 in Fort Worth, TX.

  • John Warren finished his term as the president of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry (AAPHD).  The AAPHD is the specialty organization for dental public health and is the sponsoring organization for the dental public health board (the American Board of Dental Public Health) . As president of AAPHD, Warren lead the organization for the year, chaired the AAPHD leadership’s monthly meetings, and represented AAPHD in meetings with other dental specialty’s leadership and the leadership of the ADA. Previous AAPHD presidents from Iowa include Hermine McLeran, Rhys Jones and Michelle McQuistan. Previous ABPDH presidents from Iowa include Warren and Steve Levy
  • Hayley Harvey ('94 DDS, '96 MS) was announced the president-elect of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry. She will serve this coming year as president-elect, and then she will step into the role of president for the 2023-2024 year.
  • Susan McKernan serves as a director of the American Board of Dental Public Health, which held its certifying examination just before the conference.  Steve LevyJohn Warren, and McKernan, served as examiners.
  • Leon Stanislav ('77 DDS) received the 2022 Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, American Dental Association, and Center for Disease Control Fluoridation Special Merit Award. 
  • Aparna Ingleshwar won the Leverett Graduate Student Merit Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dental Public Health.
  • Several Iowa alumni and residents received their board certification at the conference.  
  • Julie Reynolds presented on 1) the Patient-Centered Dental Home project,  2) a project to develop a research agenda for dental public health, and 3) an anti-racism workshop for AAPHD student chapter members and dental public health residents.
  • Student and resident poster presenters included Emily Starman, Brooke Frazier, ChangHee Jin, Sofia Irabarren, Aparna Ingleshwar, and Jen Sukalski.