Friday, November 4, 2022

In recent years, our faculty have received many awards and recognitions, or have served as national leaders in various organizations.  Here is a partial listing of these accomplishments:

  • The College of Dentistry has awarded the following Endowed Professorships to departmental faculty:  Dr. Dan Caplan is the Christensen Professor of International Oral Health Education and Research; Dr. Pete Damiano is the Bernstein Professor in Dentistry; Dr. Teresa Marshall is the Finkelstein Centennial Professor of Teaching; Dr. Howard Cowen is the Delta Dental of Iowa Professor of Geriatric & Special Needs Dentistry, and Jin Xie is the Centennial Professor of Research; Dr. Steve Levy continues to be the Wright-Bush-Shreves Endowed Professor of Research.
  • Drs. John Warren (2013-19) and Susan McKernan (2020 - present) have served as Directors of the American Board of Dental Public Health.
  • Dr. Susan McKernan was selected as “Mentor of the Year” in 2020 by members of the College of Dentistry’s Student Research Group.
  • Drs. Michelle McQuistan (2019-20) and John Warren (2021-22) have served as President of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry. 
  • Dr. Dan Caplan was inducted into the International College of Dentists in 2019.
  • Dr. John Warren was awarded the UI Dental Alumni Association’s Educator of the Year Award for 2022.