A document with a checkmark on it

Five Student Researchers Earn Senior Research Achievement Awards

Senior Research Achievement Awards are determined based on a portfolio of research that is circulated to a group of 38 electors. The electors select award recipients based on the scientific merit of projects, the significance and productivity of projects, the number of years of involvement in research, the originality of the research, and the student's professional conduct. Award recipients were selected in 2022:  Chichi Adeleke, Sheng Lu, Emily Starman, Kelsey Wenger and Abigail Wieland.
Jason Semprini

NIH awards Semprini Training Grant for Oral Cancer Project

Jason Semprini, a T90 trainee in Iowa Institute of Oral Health Research and a Ph.D. student in the College of Public Health, was awarded a F31 grant—a training grant for mentored dissertation research for his project, Evaluating the Impact of Medicaid Dental Coverage on Early-Stage Oral Cancer Detection.

Iowa was well represented at the joint American Academy of Cariology and AAPD Meeting

The American Academy of Cariology (AAC) held its 6th Annual Conference, "Caries Prevention in a Modern World: Infants, Children, Adolescents and Special Health Care Needs Population," in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. Several faculty presented their research and Sandra Guzman-Armstrong was elected president of the AAC.
All four OPRM award winners

2022 OPRM Award Winners

On May 12, 2022, the Department of Oral Pathology, Radiology, and Medicine (OPRM) held their annual student award luncheon. This luncheon is an opportunity to celebrate the successes of OPRM students and to recognize their accomplishments.
College of Dentistry Building

Awards for Graduating Fourth-Year Students

Several fourth-year dental students received awards for their efforts as dental students. Dean Clark Stanford presented the awards to Abigail Wieland, JoElla Guagliardo, and Emily Starman.
Clark Stanford speaking at alumni reception

Hawkeyes at IDEAS22

The 2022 Iowa Dental Association's annual meeting (IDEAS) was held at the end of April in Des Moines. The University of Iowa held an alumni reception at the annual meeting, and since it was the first in-person annual meeting since the pandemic began, the event announced and presented numerous award winners, which including many Hawkeyes! 
Sydney Woods

Woods recognized in Dare to Discover campaign

Sydney Woods (D3) received the University of Iowa’s Office of the Vice President for Research’s “Dare to Discover” Banner Award.
Megha Puranam delivering the keynote address

Megha Puranam's Keynote Address

The Center for Inclusive Excellence at the University of Iowa held its annual graduation reception on May 11. At this reception, fourth-year dental student Megha Puranam delivered the keynote address at the graduation reception.
Fireworks over the Old Capitol

Two fourth-year dental students recognized for efforts to promote inclusive education

Fourth-year dental students Chichi Adeleke and Megha Puranam both received awards at the Center for Inclusive Academic Excellence Graduation Reception. Adeleke received the Dean's Achievement Award, and Puranam received the Student Leadership Award. Puranam also delivered the keynote address at the reception.
Azeez Butali with Waheed Awotoye

Butali recognized for his efforts as a mentor

Butali serves as a mentor to numerous other students and researchers, and on May 12, he received a Faculty Award recognizing those efforts. Butali’s students shared their appreciation with the Hawkeye Smile for their mentor.