Jeff Marschall headshot

Marschall joins Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Thursday, October 26, 2023
Jeff Marschall has recently joined the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery as a clinical assistant professor. In addition, he holds a dual appointment in the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and Stead Family Children’s Hospital.
Kirk Fridrich headshot

Fridrich named Patient's Choice Award Provider

Tuesday, October 24, 2023
Kirk Fridrich, head of the department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS), was named a Patient’s Choice Provider for FY23.
Iowa Dentistry participants at IMOM 2023

IMOM Recap 2023

Thursday, October 19, 2023
The Iowa Mission of Mercy was held on October 13-14 in Waterloo. Over the weekend, the dentists and dental staff saw 1,080 patients. All dental care at the event is provided for free to those who come and are willing to wait. Services provided to the patients include cleanings, restorations, minor oral surgery, endodontic and periodontal care as well as removable prosthodontics (e.g., “flippers”).
Azeez Butali with his professorship medallion

Azeez Butali named as endowed professor

Thursday, October 12, 2023
Azeez Butali was named the Gilbert E. Lilly Professor of Diagnostic Sciences at the University of Iowa. Butali is a global leader in cleft lip and palate research and the world’s foremost expert in the genetics of these conditions in African populations.
Dan Caplan and Marsha Cunningham-Ford pose for a picture together after Caplan receives 2023 Educator of the Year award.

Dan Caplan ('88 DDS) named 2023 Educator of the Year

Monday, October 9, 2023
Professor Dan Caplan, a 1988 graduate of the College of Dentistry and head of the college’s Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry from 2007- 2022, is named 2023 Educator of the Year. For Dan, who grew up in Iowa City in a family that valued education, the opportunity to shape future dentists and the school that teaches them has been a gratifying experience.
Kyungsup Shin with his medallion

Kyungsup Shin named as endowed professor

Thursday, October 5, 2023
Kyungsup Shin was named the Ross D. Christensen Family Professor of Orthodontics on September 21. Shin is a shining example of Iowa's excellence in research, teaching, and clinical care.
Janet Guttmiller

Janet Guthmiller ('88 DDS) named Leader of the Year 2023

Thursday, October 5, 2023
Janet Guthmiller, dean of the University of North Carolina Adams School of Dentistry and a 1988 graduate of Iowa Dentistry, has been named Leader of the Year 2023. Janet was a faculty member at Iowa from 1997 to 2007 and credits this experience, and others in academia, with preparing her to take on top-tier leadership roles.
Bob Williams receiving his alumni award

Bob Williams ('73 DDS) Receives College’s Highest Alumni Award

Thursday, September 28, 2023
Bob Williams (73 DDS), a longtime supporter and advocate for Iowa Dentistry, was named 2023 Alumnus of the Year, an honor he says he is humbled to receive.
Julie Reynolds

NIH awards dental faculty a grant to investigate the impact of adult Medicaid coverage on children

Thursday, September 21, 2023
Julie Reynolds, assistant professor in the Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry, received a $300,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health to study changes in Medicaid adult dental coverage and impact that these changes have on children's access to care.
Rima Desai

Public Health resident receives Delta Dental Foundation Grant

Thursday, September 14, 2023
Rima Desai, a second-year resident in Dental Public Health, received a Graduate Student Thesis award from the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation to support her survey of Iowa Dentistry alumni's treatment of underserved populations.